We are Hiring



Rocky Mountain Raceways is currently hiring for the following Full Time positions:


Safety & Security Director

Corporate Sales Person (Description coming soon)


Both of these positions are considered full time with a competitive benefits package available. Rocky Mountain Raceways is a very fast paced, unique and exciting place to work with very few full time employment opportunities. Send in your resume today for your opportunity to join this great team.

If you are interested in either of these positions, please send your resume to meames@rmrracing.com.

Final oval standings are out; Hardy grabs 2016 Shoq Wave Late Model crown

Lynn Hardy (4) and John Newhouse (46) speed down the back stretch of the AFCU Super Oval on Oct. 8

Lynn Hardy (4) and John Newhouse (46) speed down the back stretch of the AFCU Super Oval on Oct. 8

Racing veteran Lynn Hardy, a multiple-time Rocky Mountain Raceways oval champion, added an extra piece of hardware to his collection by winning RMR’s 2016 Shoq Wave Late Model title.
Hardy earned the distinction after finishing second at the RMR Oval Championships, Night 2 event, held Oct. 8 on the America First Credit Union Super Oval. By virtue of his efforts in that race, he finished atop the Shoq Wave Late Model point standings for the 2016 season.
Hardy went into the final race of the season with a slight lead over Jimmy Waters. After finishing as the top qualifier and a second-place showing in the heat race, Hardy put himself in excellent position going into the feature event, where he finished second behind John Newhouse.
Waters came across in third in the final race and second over all in the point standings.
In other action, Waters earned the 2016 University Federal Credit Union Sprint Car championship, 15 points ahead of second place finisher Kyle Bergener.
Jimmy Waters UFCU Winged Sprint Car hits the back stretch on Oct. 8.

Jimmy Waters UFCU Winged Sprint Car hits the back stretch on Oct. 8.

In the Oct. 8 UFCU Sprint Car feature, Waters held on for a second place finish behind Nick Pepe. That high finish gave Waters all the points he needed to take home yet another RMR oval racing championship.
Having earned points in five different classes, Waters once again secured an Iron Man championship with 2,683 total points.
Don Massie won the Crate Sprints class, followed by Tim Powell and Larry Smith.
Michael Daniels won the 2016 Midgets class championship, wrapping up the tightly-contested competition between himself and Chuck Groat. Daniels won the Oct. 8 event less than a second ahead of Groat.
Michael Daniels races his No. 87 Midget into Turn 3 of the AFCU Super Oval on Oct. 8.

Michael Daniels races his No. 87 Midget into Turn 3 of the AFCU Super Oval on Oct. 8.

In other action from Oct. 8, Jeramy White won the Sommer’s Auto Wrecking Hornet race, crossing ahead of Tyler Green and Brandon Sainsbury. The overall class championship went to Adam Warner, who finished fourth in the final race. Skylar Douglas was the point standings runner-up.
The 2016 Mini Stocks champion is Cortney Green, followed by Sami Lovendahl and Drew Crenshaw.
And in the Tucker Towing Double Decker race, the “Green Lantern” team took the checkered flag in the final race, ahead of “Jim n John Freaky Fast” and “Hard Water.” In final point standings show “Green Lantern” on top, followed by “Jim n John Freaky Fast” and Hit n Run.
RMR’s 20th anniversary season is now in the books. The action will heat up again in April and May of 2017.

Ith Jr. scores third consecutive Maverik Modified championship on AFCU Super Oval

Mark Ith Jr.'s No. 84 Maverik Modified does a burnout to celebrate Ith Jr.'s third consecutive championshp.

Mark Ith Jr.’s No. 84 Maverik Modified does a burnout to celebrate Ith Jr.’s third consecutive championship (photo by Chris Dake).
Racer Mark Ith Jr. captured his third straight Maverik Modified championship Saturday on the America First Credit Union Super Oval at Rocky Mountain Raceways.

Ith Jr., who previously won titles in 2014 and 2015, earned another after finishing fourth in the 2016 RMR Oval Championships, Night 1.  He had a 35 point lead over Lynn Hardy going into Saturday’s races.  With a lead like that, all Ith Jr. didn’t need to get too aggressive.  And that’s what he did, finishing as the top qualifier and then taking fourth in his heat race.

All that put him in position to take home another title, even after a fourth place finish in the main event.

Ith Jr. finishes the 2016 season with 809 points.  Hardy, who finished Saturday’s feature race in second place behind Tyler Whetstone, finished second in the 2016 Maverik Modified point standings.  He finished with 801 points followed by Michael Haddenham (742) and Whetstone (695).

Although there certainly could have been, there we not real surprises on Saturday.  Each point standings leader going into the championship held on for the win.


Donny Sevey and Co. celebrate his 2016 Mini Cup championship (photo by Chris Dake).

Tim Fahrner went into the day with a huge lead in the K1 Speed Super Stocks.  He finished third in the six-car main race, but it was more than good enough for him to earn his third straight Super Stocks championship.

Joe Bowen finished first on Saturday; he was followed by Kevin Truscott and Fahrner.

In Mini Cups, Donny Sevey went into the championships with a 6 point lead over his son, Skyler, who happened to be the 2015 champion.  Donny went on to win Saturday’s race, thereby giving him 663 points for the season, 17 points ahead of Skyler and 21 ahead of Kevin Neff.

Neff finished second in Saturday’s feature race, just behind Donny Sevey.

In other action Saturday, Brendon Fries, of Idaho, won the Pro 4 Banger race and ran a sizzling 15.976 in qualifying, won the main race.  Kevin Winders, the 2015 champion, finished second on Saturday and in doing so he repeated as Pro 4 Banger champion.

Dave Fleishman finished second to Winders in the overall point standings and Michael Sivak finished third.

Blaze Tucker went into Saturday’s Jr. Stinger race with a 22-lead over Abbie Coburn in the overall point standings.  Tucker finished second to Coburn in the feature race, but still had enough points (855) to win the Jr. Stinger championship.

Coburn won Saturday’s race, which gave her 832 for the season.  That was good enough for second place in the point standings.  Chaz Groat (747 points) finished third.

The team known as “Shake, Rattle n Roll” captured Saturday’s Brandon Park Roofing Trains race, well ahead of second place finisher “Plum Nutz.”  For the season, “Shake, Rattle n Roll” earned the championship with 507 points a good distance ahead of “Plum Crazy” (451 points) and “Rest in Pieces” (365).

Looking ahead to next week and the RMR Oval Championships, Night 2, the event will feature Shoq Wave Late Models, University Federal Credit Union Sprint Cars, Midgets, Sommer’s Auto Wrecking Hornets and Tucker Towing Trains.

In each of the classes, the point standings leader has lead of no bigger than 26 points, and in most, the deficit is single digits.  For example, the Shoq Wave Late Models is led by Lynn Hardy, who leads Jimmy Waters by just two points (448-446). Only eight points separate leader Kyle Bergener (569) and Waters (561) in the UFCU Sprint Cars standings